Advisory Councils

The Center for Medical Humanities & Ethics Advisory Council

The Center for Medical Humanities & Ethics Advisory Council helps the Center accomplish its mission by familiarizing community members with its programs and activities and by providing support for its funding strategy. Each member serves the Center with his or her wisdom, experience, influence and abilities. The Council meets three times per year.

James R. Adams

Mary Beth Williamson

Edith S. McAllister
(Feb. 18, 1918 – July 1, 2018)
Founding Chair

Advisory Council

Barbara Baugh

John Browning, M.D.

Charles E. Cheever, Jr.

Jean Cheever

Graciela Cigarroa, J.D.

Edgar M. Duncan, J.D.

Laura Ehrenberg-Chesler

Jimmy Ruth Evans

Marvin Forland, M.D.

Charlotte Franklin

Betty Murray Halff

Sarah E. Harte

Mary L. Henrich, J.D.

George B. Hernández, Jr., J.D.

Susan Jarvis, J.D.

Megan Kromer, Ph.D.

Barbara Labatt

Nancy Maebius, Ph.D.

Taddy McAllister

Gary McWilliams, M.D.

Kevin C. Moriarty

Bill Nichols

Phyllis Nichols

Pilar Oates

Janet D. Puckett, M.D.

Fazlur Rahman, M.D.

Carl Register

William Scanlan, Jr., J.D.

C. Reggie Williams

Dorothy R. Williams

Jack Willome

Jerald Winakur, M.D.

Student Advisory Council Members

The CMHE Student Advisory Council assists the faculty and staff of the Center for Medical Humanities & Ethics to support the mission of the Center.

The CMHE Student Advisory Council achieves its mission through a membership of diverse students from the University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio School of Medicine. These individuals engage in, assist and support the activities of the Center; provide counsel to the Center’s faculty, staff and Advisory Board on important issues affecting educational curriculum and activities in humanities and ethics; provide insights to the faculty, staff and Advisory Board on how the Center can enhance the impact of its services for students; and to provide input to the faculty, staff and Advisory Council for assessing the progress of the Center and charting the future.


Larissa Aroche-Gutierrez

Class of 2019

Jelina Castillo

Class of 2020

Connie Cheng

Class of 2020

Ko Choi

Class of 2020

Melissa Dang

Class of 2021

Max Feng

Class of 2021

Cara Forsythe

Class of 2020

Amina Igeh

Class of 2019

Tommy Pham

Class of 2021

Will Sovic

Class of 2019

Juan Vargas

Class of 2020

Courtney Widjaja

Class of 2019

Maggie Zhang

Class of 2020

Frank Jing

Class of 2022

Sabi Shrestha

Class of 2022

Christine Lamaie

Class of 2022

Sanaa Prasla

Class of 2022

Student Advisory Council Alumni

Class of 2018

Shannon Brougher, M.D.

Mazen Hassan, M.D.

Saloni Singh, M.D.

Christopher Smith, M.D.

Yayu Zhong, M.D.

Class of 2017

Johanna Ascher, M.D.

Analee Benavides, M.D.

Anu Kapadia, M.D.

Jonathan Rowland, M.D.

Emily Wasson, M.D.

Class of 2016

Samy Bendjemil, M.D., MPH

Stefan Jensen, M.D.

Andrea Richardson, M.D.

Wen Zhang, M.D.

Class of 2015

John Anhalt, M.D.

Kelsey Bryant, M.D.

Jesse Sandhu, M.D.

Class of 2014

Amanda Lipsitt, M.D.

Matthew Mullane, M.D., MPH

Kristy Riniker, M.D.

Amy Yu, M.D.

Class of 2013

Daniel Clark, M.D., MPH

Katie Gong, M.D.

Class of 2012

Beth Byrne, M.D.

Martin Hechenova, M.D.

Class of 2011

Kyle Kalkwarf, M.D.

Kristi Pogue, M.D.

Julie Wibskov, M.D.